defence

I decided my defence wasnt good enough and I’d like to get hit as little as possible so asked my trainer to tailor a few sessions this way. This meant lots of rounds just defending – slipping, catching punches, blocking, moving etc – as well as many drills. The rounds vary between not being allowed to move off the spot whilst getting jabbed and being allowed to move.. but not throw any punches back.
Not moving off the spot means keeping the front foot (the left) on the same spot and pivoting off it moving the right foot to the left or right, ducking, slipping, blocking and generally squirming to avoid being hit or at least making sure your guard is tight so when you do get hit its not too bad. I can see some shots coming but not all so slipping/blocking is the only option.
Being allowed to move is more frustrating because you can at least get in good positions/avoid too many few punches/keep the feet loose but you still cant throw anything back. This one drives me nuts! The rare time I can see space for a shot I’m not allowed to take it.
Argh!
Of course the fact you know if you leave your guard you’ll get hit means slipping/catching tends to take a back seat to blocking or moving out of the way. This means progress can be stunted as you’ll spend more time worrying that if the slip/catch is incorrect you’re open rather than executing the move correctly. I decided I was just going to have to go for the technique first and foremost and accept I’ll get hit until I have improved. Yeh, will let you know how this one goes!
Overall its great for discipline/fearing getting hit and I’m learning but man, its frustrating.

 

Leave a Reply

